School of Electronics and Information

Date of issue:2018-08-28 09:20:07 Hits:

The predecessor of the School of Electronics and Information at Northwestern Polytechnical University was the Department of Electronic Engineering, founded in 1958. Currently there are five undergraduate degree programs, including Electronics Science and Technology, Electronics and Information Engineering, Detection, Guidance and Control Technology, Communication Engineering, and Electromagnetic Field and Wireless Technology. There are eleven master’s degree programs, eight doctoral degree programs, and three centers for post-doctoral research. There is one national key sub-discipline, i.e. Circuit and System. And There are two disciplines for doctoral degree programs, i.e. Electronics Science and Technology, and Information and Communication Engineering.

There are four departments and one center in the school: Department of Electronic Science and Technology, Department of Electronic and Information Engineering, Department of System and Control Engineering, Department of Communication Engineering, and Electronic Experimental Teaching Center. The school also has nine laboratories (including five provincial or ministerial laboratories) and centers, as well as students and young teachers’ innovation centers and seven discipline laboratories. More than 5,700 sets of laboratory equipments can be applied in comprehensive undergraduate teaching, graduate education and scientific research.

The school has 109 teaching staffs, including 32 professors (including 26 Ph.D. supervisors) and 47 associate professors. Among the faculty, one member has become the academician of “Chinese Academy of Engineering”, one was honored with the national level “teaching master”, two was enrolled in the “Hundred Talents Program” by Shaanxi Province, six have been supported by the “Program for New Century Excellent Talents in University” by the Ministry of Education, two were honored with “backbone teachers” of institution of higher education, four have become the member of the “Ministry of Education of Higher School Teaching Guidance Committee”, and four have received the state council or government special allowance. 

The school has cultivated more than ten thousand outstanding talents for our country, in the fields of Aeronautics, Astronautics, Electronic Information and so son. The number of registered students currently in the school is 2,044, where 854 students are conducting their postgraduate research, and 1,190 students are involved in the undergraduate programs.

Five Provincial and Ministerial Key Labs, five international cooperation labs (including China-Russia and China-France), and one provincial teaching center for electronic experiments have been set up in the school. In the past five years, the research funding has reached about 200 million CNY, and there have been more than 1,000 academic publications and more than 500 scientific papers have been indexed by SCI, EI, and ISTP. Specially over 20 research achievements have been awarded at the national, provincial or ministerial level.

The School has built comprehensive cooperation and communication with well-known international universities and research institutes from more than 10 developed countries. Five international cooperation research institutes have been set up, 30 international students are studying in the school and more than 20 joint-training graduate students have gone abroad for their further education. There are also more than 20 famous experts/researchers from oversea serving as part-time or visiting professors at the school.

Last:School of Computer Science and Technology
Next:School of Automation


Copyright © Northwestern Polytechnical University

Youyi campus of Northwestern Polytechnical University ADD: 127 West Youyi Road, Beilin District, Xi'an Shaanxi, 710072, P.R.China.

Chang'an campus of Northwestern Polytechnical University ADD: 1 Dongxiang Road, Chang'an District, Xi'an Shaanxi,710129, P.R.China.